Book Review: Bad Mommy by Tarryn Fisher

Star Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Published: December 24, 2016
Started Reading: January 24, 2016
Finished Reading: January 26, 2016

bad-mommy

My Review:

Yowza!! Tarryn did it again! She managed to suck me in, chew me up and spit me out. I absolutely LOVED Bad Mommy from the very first page. I went into this book knowing only that it was written by Tarryn Fisher. I didn’t read the synopsis and I barely even looked at the cover. THAT is how much I freaking love Tarryn Fisher. I just dove right in knowing that it was going to be amazing.

The story is written in three different parts. Each part is told from the perspective of one of the three main characters in first person narration. Each part seamlessly follows a continuous timeline instead of telling the same events three different ways. This technique adds another element of depth that is unique and interesting. Like peeling back the layers of an onion, Tarryn slowly adds more dimension to the story line with each new perspective. The story is well-paced and doesn’t lull at any point. The tension continues to build from the start all the way to the very last word. It is also very plausible. At no point did I feel like this couldn’t actually happen. There were twists to the story, but not the ones I was expecting. Overall, I’m very satisfied in the direction the plot went and how it ended.

Tarryn Fisher has quickly become one of my most favorite authors because she has a unique way of unfolding a story. She also has an exceptional ability to write characters that are so complex and well-developed that they feel like real people. The characters in Bad Mommy are no exception. They are flawed and beautifully human. The characters are The Psychopath, The Sociopath, and The Writer (I think it should have been The Enabler, but whatevs I get it). I honestly felt a connection with each of them.

All in all, Bad Mommy is a fantastic story that feels like it could be very real. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat. The writing is phenomenal and the plot is very realistic. Great read!!

Author’s Synopsis:

When Fig Coxbury buys a house on West Barrett Street, it’s not because she likes the neighborhood, or even because she likes the house. It’s because everything she desires is next door: The husband, the child, and the life that belongs to someone else.

Leave a comment